The Gates of Hell (Glenwood Power Plant)

View Fullscreen

In 1906, the Glenwood Power Plant was constructed by the New York Central Railroad. It was intially used to electrify the railroad but, with more advanced technology, the power plant sites were later moved further north. After being repurposed many times, the Glenwood Power Plant was abandoned in the early 1960s. From this point on, it became a hotspot for graffiti writers to practice and showcase their work undisturbed. After being abandoned for many years, the site was acquired by the Lela Goren Group in 2012. From then, construction has been started to renovate the buildings. The purpose or goals for this redevelopment project are unknown.